• Back

    December 15 2014

    Icelandic Play “Blue Planet” Makes U.S. Premiere at Chicago's Akvavit Theatre

    Opening night is Friday, Feb. 13 at 7:30 p.m. and includes a post-show reception.

    Chicago's Akvavit Theatre presents the United States premiere of Icelandic author Andri Snær Magnason’s Blue Planet, February 11 – March 15, 2015 at the DCASE Storefront Theater, 66 East Randolph Street, Chicago, IL. This family-friendly “integrated theater” piece is based on Magnason’s award-winning “eco-lit” children’s book, The Story of the Blue Planet, and is directed by Wm. Bullion.

    Best friends Hulda and Brimir live on a planet much like Earth—populated only by children. They live a simple but ideal life. When they meet an adult, the mysterious Jolly-Goodday, they are promised a life of greater joy, even more spectacular fun, but at what cost? The exuberance of Peter Pan, the wonder of the myth of Icarus, mixed with an eco-conscious message, Blue Planet is a family-friendly and lively integrated theatrical experience using movement, puppetry, aerial dance and object work with traditional elements of storytelling. The performance is sure to illuminate, entertain and inspire.

    The New York Times Sunday Book Review raved about Magnason’s book: “The Story of the Blue Planet… is in the tradition of Roald Dahl and Maurice Sendak… a Seussian mix of wonder, wit and gravitas.” Blue Planet was first seen in the U.S. as part of Akvavit Theatre’s Nordic Spirit 2012 festival of staged readings.

    The performance schedule for Blue Planet is Thursdays – Saturdays at 7:30 p.m. and Sundays at 2 p.m. Special $10 previews are Wednesday, February 11 and Thursday, February 12 at 7:30 p.m. Opening night for Blue Planet is Friday, February 13 at 7:30 p.m. The play runs approximately 90 minutes with no intermission. Regular ticket prices are $15 for single tickets, $10 for industry/students/seniors, and $5 for children under 12 (with accompanying adult). Preview tickets are $10 adults/$5 children. Tickets go on sale December 1 at www.tix.com or by phone at 1.800.595.4849 and at the door the night of performances, based on availability

     

  • Related news

Click To View More From @IcelandNatural
Inspired by Iceland